Western Girl

As Fast Fashion gets ever faster, spurred on by the Chinese buying frenzy, one figure resists the pressures of time and money: the cowboy (or cowgirl), forever linked with great American myths surrounding freedom and natur.

The Western Girl is back on the horse

The Good, the Bad and the Ugly of Spaghetti Westerns are being drawn upon by our savviest designers. Raf Simons for Calvin Klein revisits Americanness in its most primitive form, delivering a contemporary reinterpretation of the archetypical American cowboy. Men and women are parading as one on the same catwalk, bearing the distinctive uniform of Far West legends: cowboy boots, checked shirts with breast pockets, and denim. The only sign of disharmony between the sexes is the reversal of colors.

On the Versace runway, Donatella paid tribute to her departed brother Gianni with gaucho-inspired silhouettes and female Zorros in black wide-brimmed hats.

Vanessa_Wu_Western_Girl_Tendance_Cow_Girl

And Maria Grazia Chiuri conjured up a sumptuous setting with a Hispanic flavor for the Dior Cruise collection. She placed her heroines on the other side of the border and transformed them into Mexican Escaramuzas, parading on white horses and defying all walls and broken oaths.

So why is it that Wild West esthetic codes continue to influence current and future collections? In her article “Rodeo Fashion”, the journalist Lorène Duquesne identifies three key drivers of this renewed interest in all things ranch-related.

First of all, America still exerts a fascination, with the appeal / rejection of the American dream and its sandmen who send the conscience to sleep. And although we don't forgive politicians for their mistakes and lies, we do excuse cowboys for the errors of their ways. After all, they’re the rock on which the dream was built!

Then, there’s our love of nature. "Slipping into cowboy gear is all about reconnecting with the elements. It's expressing a desire for a natural way of life, free of concrete trappings.” Wide open spaces beckon us invitingly, and on the catwalks, everyone wants to play a part in protecting them.

Vanessa_Wu_Western_Girl_Cow_Girl_Versace

Finally, there’s the search for gender neutrality. Surprisingly, the manly figure of the cowboy is making way for his female counterpart, who has borrowed from his wardrobe to create a look that combines the best of both worlds. The woman is no longer represented as a silly little saloon dancer but as the male alter ego. Not so much the story of how the Wild West was won, but rather how the gender war was put to bed.

So, cowboy boots at the ready, girls - it’s time to Wu the Wild West!

(c) Photos Credits:
Versace, SS 2018 fashion show

Découvrez plus de tendances

Follow us on Instagram

Free delivery
from 30€ of purchase

Secure payment
SSL Secure

Free returns
In France, Belgium, Luxembourg and Spain

Customer service
Need an advice? From monday to friday

+33 (0)1 76 58 04 54

Western Girl

Wu Wild West!

Alors que la Fast Fashion s’accélère, gonflée à bloc par la frénésie d’achat de l’Empire du Milieu, il est une figure qui résiste au temps et à l’argent : celle du cowboy (et de la cowgirl), à jamais liée aux grands mythes américains nourris de liberté et de nature.

La fille de l'Ouest signe son grand retour en selle

Et voilà que le Bon, la Brute et le Truand des Western Spaghetti inspirent nos créateurs les plus sages. Raf Simons pour Calvin Klein revisite l’américanité dans ce qu’elle a de plus primaire, pour délivrer une réinterprétation contemporaine de l’archétype américain du cowboy. Hommes et femmes défilent ensemble sur un même parterre, avec les signes distinctifs des légendes du Far West : santiags, denim, chemises à carreaux avec poche poitrine. La seule discordance entre sexe tient à l’inversion des couleurs.

Chez Versace, Donatella rend hommage à son frère disparu, Gianni, en convoquant sur le podium des silhouettes aux allures de gauchos et des femmes Zorro avec chapeaux noirs à larges bords.

Vanessa_Wu_Western_Girl_Tendance_Cow_Girl

C’est aussi Maria Grazia Chiuri qui signe pour la collection Croisière de Dior une mise en scène somptueuse aux accents hispaniques. Elle fait passer ses héroïnes de l’autre côté de la frontière, et les transforment en Escaramuzas mexicaines, défilant sur des chevaux blancs et défiant tous les murs et les parjures.

Comment expliquer que les codes esthétiques du Wild West s’invitent régulièrement au sein des collections actuelles et à venir ? Dans un article intitulé « Rodéo Mode », la journaliste Lorène Duquesne identifie 3 élans majeurs à ce regain d’intérêt pour l’imagerie du Ranch.

Il y a d’abord la fascination qu’exerce toujours l’Amérique, entre attraction véritable vs. rejet du rêve américain et de ses marchands de sable qui endorment les consciences. Mais, si on ne pardonne pas aux politiques leurs erreurs et leurs mensonges, on pardonne leurs défauts aux cowboys qui restent encore un roc de rêve fiable.

Ensuite, vient le désir de nature. « Se glisser dans les fringues d’un cowboy, c’est renouer implicitement avec les éléments. C’est exprimer un désir de naturalité contrarié par des vies bétonnées. » Les grands espaces se rencontrent, et sur les catwalks, on s’accorde à vouloir les protéger.

Vanessa_Wu_Western_Girl_Cow_Girl_Versace

Enfin, il y a une recherche de neutralité du genre. Contre toute attente, la figure plutôt virile du cowboy s’efface pour faire place à son double féminin qui emprunte dorénavant au vestiaire masculin un look convergent. La femme n’est plus représentée en danseuse de Saloon un peu sotte, mais bien comme l’alter-ego de l’homme, pour une reconquête qui n’est plus celle de l’Ouest, mais peut-être bien celle du Genre.

Alors les filles, à vos bottes et santiags, car la rentrée sera en Wu Wild West !

(c) Crédits Photos :
Versace, Défilé Printemps Eté 2018

Découvrez plus de tendances

Suivez-nous sur instagram

Livraison gratuite
à partir de 30€ d'achat

Retours gratuits
En France, Belgique, Luxembourg et Espagne

Service client
Besoin d'un conseil du lundi au vendredi

+33 (0)1 76 58 04 54