Your style :Rock

Here at Vanessa Wu, we think rock suits all types of girls. Whatever your shape and size and whatever the occasion, slip on your rock armor and you’ll immediately stand out from the crowd.

Berlin, London, Paris, New York. These capital cities resonate like the riffs that make up the very essence of rock, packing a real punch. Lou Reed, David Bowie, Serge Gainsbourg, Iggy Pop and Patti Smith all made themselves its feisty messengers, leaving more than a musical memory in their wake: their stand-out style still makes waves to this day.

The reporter on the underground punk scene at the Palace Night Club in Paris Alain Pacadis described a vision of rock that was ‘onomatopoetic and reptilian’. And it’s this vision of the rock style we share with you here.

Glam Rock

For glam rock, it’s all about the glitter. Provocative and over-the-top, this movement smacks of spectacular and flamboyant on-stage performances and dramatic posturing. Androgyny is key: make-up and sequins become unisex and are plastered all over these glamorous creatures who take dandyism to the extreme, such as David Bowie, Alice Cooper and The New York Dolls.

Punk Rock

More well-known and certainly easier to replicate, punk rock is a movement that truly defies the fashion establishment. The leather jacket is the centerpiece of the punk rock wardrobe. Aviator or Perfecto, we love them worn, complete with padded insets and zipped sleeves. Match this with a simple, loose-fitting T-shirt – in white to conjure up out-and-out Patti Smith androgyny, or black to channel Kate Moss. Distressed slim-cut jeans in black, gray or blue complete this rock outfit perfectly. Or mix it up with a print or lace dress. For even more of a feminine/rock contrast, choose a skater or midi skirt with a low-cut blouse, drawing inspiration from French designer Hedi Slimane for Céline, who highlights the disruptive minimalist look tinged with a sumptuous underground rock touch in homage to Parisian nightlife.

Rock ‘n’ Shoes

As for shoes, there’s a wide selection to choose from! Converse classics work anywhere and with anything. To raise the glam barometer, we turn to platforms, sneakers or thigh-highs. For more of a punk-rock style, Chelsea boots are a must, as are Vanessa Wu ankle boots with studs or straps and, of course, biker boots from the Vesper or classic collections.

Vanessa-Wu-collection-Vesper-Bottes-motardes-biker-boots

  "The thing I love about punk rock is not the music itself, but the energy behind it." Patti Smith

Discover more styles
Follow us on Instagram

Free delivery
from 30€ of purchase*

Secure payment
SSL Secure

Free returns
In France, Belgium, Luxembourg and Spain

Customer service
Need an advice? From monday to friday

+33 (0)1 76 58 04 54

Votre style : Rock

Dans la Team Vanessa Wu, nous pensons que le style rock convient à toutes les filles. Quelles que soient votre morphologie et votre taille, vous pouvez choisir d’enfiler votre carapace rock, le temps d’une soirée, ou en faire votre style quotidien.

Berlin, Londres, Paris, New York. Ces noms de villes résonnent comme des riffs qui répercutent l’essence même du rock, uppercut en plein visage. Lou Reed, David Bowie, Serge Gainsbourg, Iggy Pop et Patti Smith en sont les fougueux émissaires et ont laissé dans leur sillage plus qu’une empreinte musicale, un style à part entière qui aujourd’hui encore fait des émules.

Dans son journal, Alain Pacadis, reporter de l’underground des années Punk et Palace décrit une vision rock « onomatopoétique et reptilienne ». Et c’est un peu cette vision du style rock que nous partageons ici.

Patti Smith- Horses- Locus Solus- The New York School of Poets

Glam Rock

Le style glam rock possède une cosmétique très glitter. Provocant et excessif, il dessine les contours d’un apparence spectaculaire et flamboyante qui se meut dans une scandaleuse théâtralité. La posture androgyne est la référence ; maquillage et paillettes deviennent unisexe et recouvrent les glamorous figures des héritiers d’un dandysme poussé à son paroxysme : David Bowie, Alice Cooper, The New York Dolls, …

Punk Rock

Plus connu et certainement plus facile à assumer, le style punk rock s’inscrit dans un mouvement de revendication et de révolte anti-mode. Le blouson en cuir est la pièce centrale du vestiaire punk rock. Aviateur ou perfecto, on l’aime un peu destroy, avec empiècements matelassés et manches zippées. On l’associe à un simple t-shirt loose, blanc de préférence pour rappeler l'androgynie franche et directe de Patti Smith ou bien à un t-shirt noir à message façon Kate Moss. En bas, un jean slim déchiré noir, gris ou bleu complète parfaitement cet outfit rock. Mais on peut tout aussi bien lui associer une robe imprimée ou à dentelle. Pour un contraste encore plus marqué entre féminité et rock, on choisit une jupe patineuse ou midi, avec un chemisier décolleté, et surtout on s’inspire d’Hedi Slimane pour Celine qui magnifie une esthétique minimaliste troublante, teintée d’une somptueuse touche rock underground, hommage aux nuits parisiennes.

Le premier defile Hedi Slimane pour Celine somptueux hommage a la nuit parisienne - Numero Magazine

Rock ‘n’ Shoes

Pour les chaussures, le choix est multiple ! Les classiques converses passent partout et avec tout. Pour faire monter son baromètre Glam, on mise sur des chaussures plateforme, des baskets creepers ou des cuissardes. Pour un style rock plus punk, les Chelsea boots sont un must, au même titre que les bottines à clous ou à brides de Vanessa Wu et bien sûr les Biker boots de la collection Vesper ou de la collection classique.

Vanessa-Wu-collection-Vesper-Bottes-motardes-biker-boots

« La chose que j’aime dans le punk rock n’est pas la musique en elle-même mais l’énergie qui est derrière. » Patti Smith

(c) crédits photos :
Vignette : Hailey Baldwin, son look tendance à copier de toute urgence - Puretrend
Photo 1 : Patti Smith, Horses, The New York School of Poets
Photo 2 : Le premier défilé Hedi Slimane pour Celine somptueux hommage à la nuit parisienne - Numéro Magazine
Photo 3 : Vanessa Wu

Découvrez plus de styles

Suivez-nous sur instagram

Livraison gratuite
à partir de 30€ d'achat*

Retours gratuits
En France, Belgique, Luxembourg et Espagne

Service client
Besoin d'un conseil du lundi au vendredi

+33 (0)1 76 58 04 54