Halloween

A treat of a look, not a trick!

No, this isn’t a list of costume ideas for the day fast approaching in everyone’s calendar: October 31. If that’s what you’re after, you’d be better off finding your own misfortune on Amazon or some other online costume store. In this Halloween-themed edition, we’re looking for something a little goth and a little punk to fit our fall aesthetic, because we love that hint of cheeky defiance these styles bring to an ensemble!

But first, a bit of culture: Halloween is a contraction of All Hallows Eve, which was the night before All Saints’ Day. In Christian tradition, on the night before the Feast of All Saints, it was believed that evil spirits would come back to haunt the living. Fires would be lit, and everyone would wear black to ward off the risk of being possessed. Over the years, ancestral traditions have given way to more commercial celebrations, but Halloween is now becoming a little bit cooler every year. You only have to look at top model Heidi Klum’s costumes from the past few years to see that, above and beyond partying like poltergeists, Halloween invites us to be children again, at least for an evening.

For a Wednesday Addams Look

She is the ultimate gothic icon! Wednesday of Addams family fame is the archetype of that girl that everyone would like to be for a day: those scathing put-downs, that badass sense of style, and a presence that could make anyone shudder. Getting the neo-Victorian silhouette right is crucial, so slip on a black dress with buttons down the front, opaque black tights and a good pair of black and anthracite loafers by Vanessa Wu.

Vanessa-Wu-Tendances-Halloween-Mocassins-Mecredi-Addams

Vanessa-Wu-Tendances-Halloween-Mocassins-Mecredi-Addams-1

For a Sabrina Spellman Look

Part your hair to one side, paint your lips crimson red and throw on a scarlet top with a lace collar and a black faux-leather skirt. Sabrina Spellman, eat your heart out! To follow in the footsteps of Greendale’s Teenage Witch, we’d go for a pair of Vanessa Wu black crocodile-effect ankle boots with a double buckle.

Vanessa-Wu-Tendances-Halloween-Bottines-Sabrina-Spellman

Vanessa-Wu-Tendances-Halloween-Bottines-Sabrina-Spellman-1

For a Maleficent Look

Prepare to go all out! For a look that is attractive but still villainous, we’d suggest a black shirt with batwing sleeves, a long black coat with a raised collar and faux-fur sleeves. Help yourself to a mix of alternative accessories from the punk scene: piercings, dog collars, Vanessa Wu cowboy-style cutout ankle boots with laces and buckles, and under no conditions forget the blood red lips!

For a Jack-O’-Lantern Look

Sorry, pumpkin, we only want your color! Terracotta orange is bang on trend at the moment, as it epitomizes the seventies aesthetic we can’t get enough of. In velvety fabrics - like these rust-colored corduroy ankle boots - it makes for a stunning look. We paired these boots with a chunky turtleneck sweater (in, you guessed it, orange!) and a long men’s houndstooth coat in orange and white. Happy Halloween!

Vanessa-Wu-Bottines-Rouille-Terracotta-Velours

(c) Photo credits, in order of appeareance
Photos 1-2-3-4: photographer @alexsocks
Photo 5: photographer @mariondubanchet, artistic direction @adelaideblanc

Discover more trends
Follow us on Instagram

Free delivery
from 30€ of purchase*

Secure payment
SSL Secure

Free returns
In France, Belgium, Luxembourg and Spain

Customer service
Need an advice? From monday to friday

+33 (0)1 76 58 04 54

Halloween

Un bon look ou tu sors !

Non, il ne s’agit pas ici de vous donner des conseils de déguisement pour le jour ultime de votre 31 octobre. Pour ça, nul doute que vous trouverez votre malheur sur Amazon ou autre site Tout pour Fête. A travers cette revue tendance d’Halloween, c’est plus un mood mi-goth’, mi-punk qui nous anime à la faveur de l’automne, avec tout ce que ce style révèle d’impertinence et de désobéissance !

Mais d’abord, un peu de culture : Halloween est la contraction de All Hallow Even, qui est la traduction de « Veille de Toussaint ». En cette nuit qui précédait la Fête de tous les Saints, la croyance voulait que les mauvais esprits revinssent hanter les vivants. Alors, pour ne pas se faire posséder, on éteignait les feux et on s’habillait de noir. Les traditions ancestrales ont laissé place à une fête plus commerciale mais qui chaque année devient toujours un peu plus cool. Il faut voir les costumes du Top Model Heidi Klum pour constater qu’au-delà de fêter les esprits frappeurs, Halloween célèbre avant tout notre âme d’enfant !

Pour un look Mercredi Addams

Elle est l’icône gothique par excellence ! Mercredi dans la famille Addams, c’est l’archétype de la fille qu’on aimerait être parfois pour mettre tout le monde d’accord : une repartie cinglante, un sens du style bien badass et une présence à faire frémir. Pour se tailler une silhouette à l’esthétique néo-victorienne, on enfile une robe noire boutonnée sur l’avant, des collants noirs opaques et on choisit de sages mocassins anthracite et noir Vanessa Wu.

Vanessa-Wu-Tendances-Halloween-Mocassins-Mecredi-Addams

Vanessa-Wu-Tendances-Halloween-Mocassins-Mecredi-Addams-1

Pour un look Sabrina Spellman

Une coiffure sage avec la raie coiffée sur le côté, la bouche rouge cramoisi, un haut vermeil associé à un col dentelle, une jupe noire en simili cuir. Sabrina Spellman, sors de ce corps ! Pour marcher dans les pas de l’apprentie sorcière de Greendale, on opte pour des bottines noires effet croco à double boucle Vanessa Wu.

Vanessa-Wu-Tendances-Halloween-Bottines-Sabrina-Spellman

Vanessa-Wu-Tendances-Halloween-Bottines-Sabrina-Spellman-1

Pour un look Maléfique

Préparez-vous à sortir le grand jeu ! Pour une allure plus Jolie que méchante, on vous conseille une chemise noire à manches chauve-souris, un long manteau noir à col relevé et manches fausse fourrure, et on pioche des accessoires underground dans le vestiaire punk : piercings, colliers pour chien, bottines santiag ajourées à lacet et boucles Vanessa Wu, sans oublier les lèvres rouge sang.

Pour un look Jack’o’Lantern

De la citrouille, on ne garde que la couleur ! L’orange terracotta est très en vogue en ce moment, car il évoque l’esthétique seventies. Associé à du velours, comme sur ces bottines rouille en velours côtelé Vanessa Wu, il est du plus bel effet. On associe ces chaussures à un pull orange grosse maille à col roulé et à un long manteau d’homme pied-de-poule orange et blanc. Happy Halloween !

Vanessa-Wu-Bottines-Rouille-Terracotta-Velours

(c) crédits photos par ordre d'apparition :
Photos 1-2-3-4 : photographe @alexsocks
Photo 5 : photographe @mariondubanchet, direction artistique : @adelaideblanc

Découvrez plus de tendances

Livraison gratuite
à partir de 30€ d'achat*

Retours gratuits
En France, Belgique, Luxembourg et Espagne

Service client
Besoin d'un conseil du lundi au vendredi:
shop@vanessawu.fr

+33 (0)1 76 58 04 54