Snake addict

All over the catwalks and the choice of street style influencers, snakeskin print has been around for a few seasons now, taking pride of place in fashion’s animal kingdom.

When it comes to snakeskin print, the first piece of advice you tend to hear is to settle for little touches, usually with accessories. We aren’t going to dispute this – it’s true that a pair of python ankle boots can easily add a nice zing to an outfit.

That said, setting too much store by this assumption could make you think that, no matter how it’s styled, reptile print is just a bit too much. While it may be true that working with animal print can require a little care, it’s recently become a real fashion asset, managing to shake off its once sleazy reputation in the process. As Kaa from the Jungle Book might say: Trussssssst meee! We’re here to help you pull off reptile print with confidence.

xx

MASTERING TONE ON TONE

Snakeskin doesn’t always have to be loud and eccentric. When printed tone on tone, it adds a discreet edge, subtly spicing up a look that is missing that certain something. Its luminescent play of scales brings subtle nuances of color, adding a twist to a simple ankle boot with a light shimmery effect. Whether in a pair of Vanessa Wu cowboys or buckled ankle boots, you’ll strike the perfect balance between making a strong impression and creating a closet staple that you can slip on like a second skin.

BE BOLD WITH COLOR

There’s so much fun to be had with the color gradient of this scaly print – snakeskin is screaming out to be your new fashion playground. Far from being limited to classic shades such as black or brown, it works just as well in more striking colors. Take Roberto Cavalli, for example, who created a new species with bright blue scales, or be inspired by Saint Laurent’s use of yellow tones. Vanessa Wu has a vision of snakeskin in deep blue, revamping the classic Chelsea boot for a bold look that is perfect for crossing the urban jungle.

MIXING PRINTS

Animal print, especially in its snake incarnation, can easily work alongside other patterns. The key thing is to play with textures and designs. Our tip: mix prints from the same color palette. But if you really want to go bold, you can always choose a more clashing combo for a look with more contrast.

You might feel safer sticking to the animal theme by mixing snakeskin with leopard, or any of the other patterns from the savannah or the jungle. Note how Paco Rabanne plays with layers: mixing a red snakeskin trench with leopard print for a skillfully crafted touch of rock’n’roll. Why not try a slinky blouse that has a mix of animal patterns with a pair of Vanessa Wu snakeskin trainers for a casual chic look with a wild side?

Or you might prefer to team snakeskin with a Liberty print, as Anna Sui did in her cruise collection. The first print brings an energy to the pastoral calm of the flowers, while the second print softens the snakeskin’s sleazy edge, creating a fine balance that oozes self-assured femininity.

Discover more trends

Free delivery
from 30€ of purchase*

Secure payment
SSL Secure

Free returns
In France, Belgium, Luxembourg and Spain

Customer service
Need an advice? From monday to friday :
shop@vanessawu.fr

+33 (0)1 76 58 04 54

Snake addict

Repéré sur les podiums et apparat de choix des street styles, l’imprimé serpent est présent depuis plusieurs saisons déjà et continue de défendre sa place au sein du royaume des imprimés animaliers.

Le premier conseil le plus répandu pour adopter l’imprimé serpent est de se contenter de petites touches, notamment au travers d’accessoires. Nous n’irons pas dire le contraire, il est vrai qu’une paire de bottines en python habille facilement d’un joli pep’s n’importe quelle tenue.

Mais partir d’un tel postulat laisse supposer que l’imprimé reptile est, quoiqu’il arrive, too much et trop voyant. S’il est vrai que l’art de manier l’imprimé animalier peut nécessiter quelques précautions, il n’en est pas moins un véritable atout mode qui a su se départir du côté sulfureux qu’on lui connaissait classiquement. Aaaaie confiaaance, nous sommes là (comme dirait Kaa du Livre de la jungle) pour vous aider à l’adopter en toute tranquillité.

xx

MAÎTRISER LE TON SUR TON 

L’imprimé reptile n’est pas forcément une touche d’excentricité. Dans un imprimé en ton sur ton, il est une touche discrète qui saura relever tout en subtilité une tenue un peu trop plate. Le jeu de ses écailles apporte en effet de subtiles nuances de couleurs, twistant une simple bottine en lui apportant de nombreux reflets lumineux. Décliné sur des santiags ou bottines à boucles Vanessa Wu, on obtient alors le parfait équilibre entre pièce forte et pièce passe-partout qui se porte comme une seconde peau.

OSER LA COULEUR 

La peau de serpent présente ainsi un véritable terrain de jeu grâce à ses écailles et aux nuances qu’elles autorisent. Loin de se limiter aux seules teintes classiques que sont le noir et le marron, elle sait également revêtir des couleurs saisissantes. Roberto Cavalli crée ainsi une nouvelle espèce aux écailles bleu vif, tandis que Saint Laurent la décline dans les tons jaunes. Vanessa Wu l’imagine quant à elle dans un bleu soutenu revisitant ainsi la classique chelsea boot dans un look audacieux, idéal pour affronter la jungle urbaine.    

img2-vanessawu-3.jpg

MIXER LES IMPRIMÉS

L’imprimé animalier, dans sa déclinaison serpent, s’accommode facilement d’autres motifs. Le seul mot d’ordre est de jouer sur les textures et les dessins. Notre tip : mélanger des imprimés présentant un même nuancier de couleurs, même si les plus pointues pourront s’aventurer à porter un mix plus tranché pour un look au contraste assumé.

Ainsi, certaines resteront dans le thème animalier en mixant l’imprimé serpent à celui léopard ou à tout autre habitant de la savane et de la jungle. C’est ainsi que Paco Rabanne joue sur les superpositions en mixant trench à écailles rouges de serpent et par-dessus peau de léopard, dans une touche rock savamment maîtrisée. Tout aussi wild, on ose un chemisier fluide aux dessins animaliers mixé à une paire de baskets effet serpent Vanessa Wu pour une allure casual chic.

D’autres préféreront adopter le serpent accompagné d’un imprimé liberty, comme le présentait Anna Sui lors de sa collection croisière. Le premier imprimé revigore le côté champêtre des fleurs, tandis que le second adoucit le côté sulfureux de la peau de serpent, formant un juste équilibre pleine d’une féminité assurée.

Découvrez plus de tendances

Livraison gratuite
à partir de 30€ d'achat*

Retours gratuits
En France, Belgique, Luxembourg et Espagne

Service client
Besoin d'un conseil du lundi au vendredi

+33 (0)1 76 58 04 54